Grandparents

Anyone who knows me well knows that I have a special relationship with my grandparents. I’d be lost without them. And I don’t think I’ve ever seen them argue once. They are literally the perfect couple. 

They visited today for the first time since we had the news about Hugo. They arrived with some beautiful flowers and the hug that I’ve been desperately needing for the last two weeks. The boys were really pleased to see them and my grandad got some lovely photos, he really is David Bailey at heart. 

To cut a long story short, every time I see my grandparents my heart melts a little to see how much they still love each other after 55 years of marriage. As they were getting ready to leave, my grandad still put on my Nana’s coat for her… A true gentleman! 

Whilst I still love these heartwarming moments, I can’t help but feel a sadness inside of me that Hugo will never experience these things. He may be lucky enough, and I hope he is, to one day find real love but I know he won’t ever have that lifelong bond with someone like my grandparents do with each other… 

2 thoughts on “Grandparents”

Leave a Reply

