The first week

I’m going to keep this one brief. During that first week, I’ve gone through many emotions. I still can’t actually explain exactly how I feel and trying to write down how I ‘felt’ days ago is harder than I thought it would be, probably because I’m still filled with emotions that even I can’t understand. I cried lots, denied it lots, hugged him lots and often just sat in a complete state of disbelie. I still went to work, and to be honest I don’t think I would have got through that week if it wasn’t for that sense of ‘normality’.

Anyway, throughout all this, there is one particular thing that has stuck in my mind. The consultant said to us ‘take him away and give him a good life’. That is basically all we can do. I’m sure my emotions will replicate a rollercoaster for weeks to come yet, but that made me realise how important it is to give him the best exciting life we can while he is here with us.

Which is when Help4Hugo was created. We want him to do amazing things and cherish incredible experiences and family time before he faces the confinement of a wheelchair. I also think that throwing myself into the whole fundraising thing helped to keep my mind focused during that first week. And the support for Hugo has been amazing. It’s been pretty overwhelming at times but we couldn’t be more thankful to those who have and still are donating to his fund.

 

Leave a Reply

